My Top “You Tube” Fist Pump Moments!


Six months ago, over martinis with friends, I made a pact to begin a journey towards Photography, to start a blog, and to go on a blind date. Those were loosely my goals, my first blog entry was something like “My 90 Day Diet to Follow My Bliss.” I thought it would be fun and silly, an adventure, but I never believed 90 days later, I would be enrolled in actual school, have 5000 hits on a blog where I would actually strip my self naked for, all my pain and shame and secrets exposed. My nonexistent dating life became entries of colorful characters on pages with fake names, while my days begin plotting from start to end on how to make a camera happen, for a school I never thought would accept me. I am almost shocked at the person I have become, jumping out of bed, excited about the adventure ahead of me. It is painful now to realize how long I had gone living a miserable existence, every day beginning with the alarm clock, an enemy reminding me I had to get up and live my life, all day over, again. Those are far few and between now, like today, when I woke up in a terrible mood, a deer in headlights, a list I wanted to run and hide under my covers rather than face.
Driving the kids to school today, Kat, my 8 year old called me out on it. “Mom,” she asked, “What is your big thought?”
Busted.
I always ask that question of her, particularly on rough days, when she can’t get over someone calling her chips weird, and I knew she was right, that I needed a “BIG THOUGHT” to jolt me out of fear, my knuckles white from holding the wheel so tight. Today my answer is a GIGANTIC iced coffee and my blog. What makes you want to jump out of a bad mood, feel the energy of being so alive you are unable not to smile? I went right for my YOU TUBE folder in my email, laughing and crying organizing the forgotten moments, all unique in design and expression. If you need that “BIG THOUGHT” with me today, join me in my iced coffee moment, scroll through dancing, love, service, creativity, laughter, and music to find what inspires you, click on it, and make sure you skip to the end, for the TOP music videos! Just posting them erased the worry of today, music always makes me want to jump out of my skin, leave my body on the floor, a great song is the best vehicle for life, so lets drive. I call shotgun, so put your seat belt on, turn up the volume, and leave the windows rolled down. Life is the ultimate ride, so I wonder what may occur when we open our eyes and minds to the alarm we want to go off, a surprise party waiting, our dreams cheering, people checking their clocks, watching the door.
I say we quietly show up, kick the door, scare the shit out of them, and hand out our own party favors.
Oh, and don’t forget Rob Dyrdek is coming, but because Nana and Clyde will be attending, he promised, just this once, to leave the strippers at home..
TOP TEN YOU TUBEY FIST PUMP GUARANTEES!
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#1. DANCE.
For all of you who love it, in all its forms, and for my Kat, DANCE is the very thing that makes her come ALIVE. Dance is : HOT. SEXY. CORNY. AWKWARD. DRUNK. INSPIRATIONAL. FUN. LIBERATING. CAPTIVATING. LOVE. EXPRESSION. ART. FREEDOM. Everybody should dance, which is my favorite part of weddings, even if your old, young, white, black, funky, horrific, or insanely good. Don’t let not having rhythm stop you. At least when we aren’t watching, DO IT with a hair brush, naked out of the shower, in front of the mirror, or in your car. JUST DANCE.


……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#2. LOVE.
For all you romantics ones, DREAMING for the “ONE” to arrive at your door, who wake up every day next to the love of your life, who dedicate your heart and home to finding your perfect match. Some of us are ALIVE as long as we believe in love, two rocking chairs on a porch, a life complete with our soul mate walking in our front door. Don’t give up hope. Here are three proposals, one woman’s battle to win a man with her breasts, and the ultimate, YOU TUBEY “Wedding Video” to remind you its real if you long for it, so BELIEVE.





……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#3. LEAD.
Are you a front runner, pioneer, a person who only feels truly ALIVE serving a mission, to our planet, our children? Is there a calling for you, a reason you need to be known for, and if so, what is your UNIQUE message to deliver? Stand up so we can see what HOPE is made of, people ready to meet darkness with LIGHT, so if you are chosen to do so, open your heart, let it break, and light the flame you came here to burn. The video of the children is for us all, and I beg you to please watch, be inspired, to see the difference we can make. Beware of the Oil Spill video, which I could hardly stomach, as well as the rest, all painful realities we sadly need to wake up and take responsibility for. Scream. Yell. Pray. Cry. Write. Pay. Invite. Join. Just DO something with your LOVE and let us see HOPE make miracles appear. INVENT a way. With Martin Luther’s Dream, no excuse is possible. If this doesn’t make you come out of your skin, nothing will.





……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#4. INSPIRE.
How far do you stray from your normal routine? Does writing music or poems or fashion inspire you? Do you think outside the box? Do you let age or other factors hinder you from developing a secret talent, exploring a new hobby? Maybe for you, ALIVE is your thought that the world is waiting for. Watch a grandma, a child, Andy McKee, and George Carlin defy every limit. These people took the very talents you may have, but have not taken seriously. BE HEARD.






……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#5. HOW?
Sure, we all want to become ALIVE in our own lives, but maybe we get STUCK, not knowing how. It moves me to hear Stevie Nicks speak about being self conscious and fearful, only to become one of the great songwriters of all time, and AUTHENTIC in her fashion, which I was surprised didn’t come easy. I STUMBLED UPON jonathanfields.awake@thewheel.com. He is an entrepreneur with a list of accomplishments as long as my disastrous dating career, as well as a great public speaker. His own story of how he moved through fear to create wealth and his greatest dreams really helped me face some of my own. As a writer, of course, Elizabeth Gilbert, from “Eat, Pray, Love,” has my heart, her own memoir I read in my bathtub, at the same time of my divorce, so I sobbed in the cracks of the tile with her. Her humor still in tact, she is candid about what happens as you overcome fear, a fact you will deal with no matter how successful you become.




………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

#6. KIND.
For all the ANIMAL LOVERS out there, of course, these are the classics. Are you ALIVE from knowing them, nurturing them, rescuing them?
I know I am the better for it, which I am sure any lover of the tame or wild, would have to agree.


………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

#7. WHO?
Two dear friends, one film maker, Tim O’Hara, one photographer, John Robert Ward, that’s WHO. I have so many talented artistic friends, especially musical, but Tim especially touches me to the core on the subject of grief and death, his father being murdered, his journey I have been privileged to witness from his early film days. J.R. Ward gives us a lens into the life of a son who lets us in the journey through Alzheimer’s Disease, a remarkable touching battle of pain, grief, and hope. He is the sole reason I am attending the school, mainly because I want to be him when I grow up. I can’t talk ALIVE without sharing the ART I have been changed by.
Love you, both.

Here is the link for JOHN-ROBERT-WARD II, prepare to have your breath taken away.

My Father Has Gifted Hands

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

#8. LAUGH.
Duh. Who doesn’t come ALIVE from laughter? It is the very reason I can stand this place called life sometimes. For the ones who fall with the record button on, are single like me, are old and like hip hop, it is my firm belief JOY is a purpose unto itself, and I wish I had a good comic routine to add, but oh well. That’s what great about laughter, you can let things go, wipe away a frown, make a mistake feel good, a friendship on immediate contact. Nice, polite, and kind, but give me a man who can make me laugh, and I fall in LOVE.



………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

#9. WRONG.
For the mentally disturbed, the dark horse in all of us, those who have a humor for the sick and deranged behavior of others, you, my dark crazy friends, are not being left out. If it isn’t supposed to be funny, I believe it most certainly is. I become ALIVE when I watch something I am not sure is real, which in this age, happens every day. For the sick, offensive, dark and delusional, thank you. For all the nut jobs, I am a great fan.






………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

#10. LIVE
Nothing makes me more AlivE than LIVE MUSIC. So stay tuned I am putting it on a separate blog post because this one has gotten so long…Please comment and leave your favorite You Tube moments…What changed you, horrified you, made you laugh, love? I’m dying to know.

4 thoughts on “My Top “You Tube” Fist Pump Moments!

  1. Wow, that dance video is freaking awesome! I love dancing, and I love dance movies . . . and I totally agree that there is nothing better than a great song and some dancing to get you out of a blue mood. I also love your BIG Thought question and you’re daughter sounds like a genius! Can’t wait to check out the other videos!

  2. i love your site, i am john-robert ward’s mom, thank you for recognizing what a kind and gifted son dr.j and i have, i knew the first time i held him he would be special and have a message for this world.

  3. What an honor, Mrs. Cindy, a woman I have only heard the most wonderful things about! You are so right about your son, and he is the inspiration behind me going to the Circus, and I adore him, as well as you, a mother myself. Thank you for replying. It lit my whole face.

  4. you rock Marsh
    the blog is great. you are gifted with words yo….. can’t wait to see what flows out of you during your time at “The Circus”

Leave a Reply

